Outdoors
Sponsored by

Snake Thread 2017

715,455 Views | 3233 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Sean98
Stive
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Question about the large constrictors eating large prey:

When a python eats an impala or leopard, is it more vulnerable for a period of time due to the extra weight/large lump in its gut? And if so, how long?
ttha_aggie_09
AG
On something that large, it will likely not eat again for a few months, if not longer. Anytime a snake has a meal that's a substantial portion of their body weight, they are at risk. Partially because they can't really move when their body weight just doubled (more/less) and partially because of the extra time needed in warm areas to help digest the meal.

Growing up as a kid, it was very common to catch a broad banded water snake or diamondback water snake with a fat belly and as soon as you picked him up he would begin to regurgitate the frog/fish that he just ate. It was actually pretty cool.

I'm no expert on the bigger guys but imagine they can do the same if threatened.
BroncStomper06
AG
On our road in Grimes County. Thoughts on this one?

$240 Worth of Pudding
AG
BroncStomper06 said:

On our road in Grimes County. Thoughts on this one?

Cottonmouth.
BroncStomper06
AG
That was my guess. We've had several Copperheads, but this is the first CM I've seen.
jbanda
AG
Can't see the side markings on the head, but that fat to skinny tail is a dead give away.
SoulSlaveAG2005
AG
Definitely a a cottonmouth
RandAlThor
AG

Wife sent me this picture of a snake they found at work(North Austin Area) and I was hoping that you could help me ID it. I was thinking Garter but I just recently found this thread and I am not very good at this game yet.

Thank you in advance!
ttha_aggie_09
AG
Juvenile Texas Rat Snake
RandAlThor
AG
Thank you.
ThunderCougarFalconBird
AG
BCO07 said:

Can't help but be reminded of this clip:

I realize it is completely inappropriate on this thread, btw.
aggieAT07
AG