Outdoors
Sponsored by

Saltwater Flyfishing

463,678 Views | 3066 Replies | Last: 3 hrs ago by dr_boogs
Salt of the water
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm new to the game and no where good enough of a caster to notice a big difference. The only rod I've thrown in both 2 and 4 was a st croix imperial. It wasn't noticeable at all to me but I'm sure a better caster could detect subtle differences.

I've heard one peice poon rods are ideal because of the removal of the weak points. Once you get a ferrule on there to make it a two peice I think you've lost that advantage.

For a rod that'll see significant flying time, I'd go 4 peice. In my mind, it'd be easier to pack multiple 4 peice rods than one 2 peice. And in Belize, I'd really want to have an 8wt or 9wt in addition to the 11wt because the bones and tarpon aren't generally monsters.
Ayto Siks
rgarza35 said:

I will be chasing tarpon...10K Islands in Florida...

rather be fishing
AG
My last fly trip to Idaho I took a 9ft 2-piece rod in a metal tube as a carry on. It wouldn't fit in the overhead storage so the attendants stored it up front during the flight. No issues going through security.

Don't limit yourself because of airport security.
RickSawyer
AG
Finn Maccumhail said:

My go-to tarpon stick is a 12wt Hardy ProAxis and I think Rick Sawyer throws a Hardy Zephyrus (replaced the ProAxis line) in 11wt. I would highly recommend looking at the Hardy sticks in the 11-12wt category.

This is correct. I really do like the Hardy Z for heavy lifting.
Finn Maccumhail
AG
RickSawyer said:

Finn Maccumhail said:

My go-to tarpon stick is a 12wt Hardy ProAxis and I think Rick Sawyer throws a Hardy Zephyrus (replaced the ProAxis line) in 11wt. I would highly recommend looking at the Hardy sticks in the 11-12wt category.

This is correct. I really do like the Hardy Z for heavy lifting.

Also, I have a Tibor Gulfstream on my 12wt ProAxis and have found it to be a fantastic tarpon rig.