Outdoors
Sponsored by

Saltwater Flyfishing

463,538 Views | 3064 Replies | Last: 26 days ago by TarponChaser
RickSawyer
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
BirdhunterAg13 said:

RickSawyer said:

Where are you fishing?
Either lakes around BCS or down at the coast

What target species / method of fly fishing (skiff, kayak, wading)?
For now, bass/trout/reds from the kayak and wading. Probably in 5-10 years I'll add a skiff to that list.

Have you had casting lessons?
No, I'm wanting to go down to Orvis to take their free lessons, but it seems they are done for the year unless I read it wrong.

What rods have you thrown before?
Never thrown a fly rod. Complete beginner here.

If you get down towards Houston / Galveston I have a few folks I could recommend for casting lessons. A lot of folks will tell you to get lessons before you invest and while that may be true and sound logic, I was able to teach myself how to cast a fly rod on my own as a 10 year old kid living on the water in Kemah so if your heart is set on figuring it out you can do it.... I was also doing it on a $100 Pfluger combo from Oshman's so my investment was 20% of what yours would be today.

The 8wt I recommended above will be just fine for saltwater but ifyou want to fish lakes as well I would size down to 6 or 7wt. You may struggle on the coast with wind but as a beginner it won't matter if you have a 6wt or a broomstick in your hands, wind will ruin your day a bit until you learn how to control line speed.
Salt of the water
AG
If I was buying someone a starter rod, I'd get them a Cabelas cgr 7/8 wt. They're on sale for $60 right now. More than half off the usual price.

It's fiberglass which means it's slow action, deep bending and has a nice feel. All great attributes in a beginner rod. Very forgiving for learning to cast.