Outdoors
Sponsored by

Bender's Big AR-15 & Semi Auto Shilling Thread

528,138 Views | 2919 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by robstrom
CharlieBrown17
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I know I've been posting about it for probably a few years now but I finally scrounged together all the parts I wanted and built my first AR from the ground up. My first AR build was an assembled upper and stripped lower and left me wanting to build a full AR so when EyeGuy did the Class Year lowers that basically started my 2 year journey of collecting parts when I spare cash or when I could convince Santa to play nice. I wanted to build a long barrel, long range toy instead of a carbine, the thing is a beast at just over 40" and 11lbs.

Parts List with links
Texian Firearms Billet Receiver set
RRA "Operator" A2 Fixed Stock
Magpul MIAD 1.1 grip
Geissele G2S-E Trigger
PSA Premium Full Auto BCG, No Logo
Strike Industries Extended Latch Charging Handle
Burris PEPR Scope Mount
Vortex Viper 6.5-20x50
15" ALG EMR V3 MLOK Rail
LaRue Tactical 20" Stealth Barrel
Odin Works Lo Pro Gas Block
Strike Industries JCOMP V2 Muzzle Brake
Harris Bipod

Unfortunately the first day on the range wasn't as smooth as hope, the gun is a dream to shoot but I need to get back to practicing driving ARs on the bench as I've become annoyingly rusty. The gun is also overgassed which is a relatively common problem with LaRue barrels due to their larger than average gas port. Brass ejects to about the two o'clock position and the bolt is cycling too fast and returning towards battery before the next round is in place to be fed, the next round is either skipped completely or gets partially fed and dented below the shoulder. Bolt holds open on an empty mag.

Only one ammo I brought along shot anywhere worth a damn, the 69 SMK FGMM produced two back to back Sub MOA/MOA groups. The left is 1.125 edge to edge so .902 center to center and the right is 1.2 so just under 1 at .977.

77 SMK FGMM shot between 1.5-2 inches