Outdoors
Sponsored by

Bender's Big AR-15 & Semi Auto Shilling Thread

527,925 Views | 2919 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by robstrom
Mr. Dubi
How long do you want to ignore this user?
The shots I've made out to 400 yards were with a .223 Wylde 10.5" using M193 in winds less than 10 MPH. That was on 11x18" steel targets. With winds greater than 10 MPH I really struggled past 300 yards. I have never shot my .300 blk past 25 yards, so I can't be of much real help. I've been told that 110 gr VMAX they are good out to 300 yards though.
mts6175
AG
As others have said, an Adjustable Gas Block can help. You can also change the buffer size to compensate for that. But you shouldn't really have that problem with a 300BLK. 5.56 yes, otherwise it shouldn't be an issue until you start running a suppressor on a 300BLK.

As for barrels, I can't speak for Yankee Hill barrels, I have no experience with anything from them. Like I said earlier, I'd go with the Ballistic Advantage I posted. They guarantee Sub-MOA accuracy. I would also look at AAC Barrels (they invented the round, you would think they know what to do with it), Daniel Defense, and Noveske.
dr_boogs
AG
This is such a classic OB response. Just to confirm (as I'm taking opinions from all, that's what I'm here for, opinions and information), you're suggesting that a 10 inch vs. 8 inch barrel will have zero effect on ballistic performance with this cartridge if I'm interested in shooting out to 200 yards? Or that the difference in barrel length will have an effect, just so negligable that it won't be a factor?

Thanks again everyone.
dr_boogs
AG
thanks MTS
txyaloo
AG
quote: