Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Stronglifts 5x5. Anyone followed this program?

264,277 Views | 1769 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Iowaggie
AggieBaker09
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am interested in this program, but I am more interested in losing weight than gaining weight.

I have been active my whole life and lifted weights all throughout college and was in pretty good shape(185lbs).

When it came time for the real world, I slacked big time and my weight ballooned up to 230lbs. I have been working out pretty religiously for the past 3-4 months, but I haven't lost much weight, maybe 5 lbs. I have noticed that I have gained a good amount of my strength back though. I do more isolation workouts 3-4 times a week (chest/tri, legs, back bi, and then shoulders/etc) and then try to throw in some cardio 2-3 times a week after my weight training.

So for the people that are on this program or have done it in the past, have you been able to lose weight? Or are yall strictly trying to gain weight?
fourthgenag09
AG
From my noob understanding, you'll need to create a larger calorie deficit (~500 under your calorie maintenance) and stop messing around with isolation exercises. Do more squat, deadlift, and bench.
yeahtoast
AG
+1 compound lifts, and heavy lifts at that.

I eat at a defecit all week and workout all the time...but I drink heavily on the weekends to make up for it and after losing 30 lbs two years ago I'm able to keep my weight in check at the 180-190 mark. I went through a long enduro-weeny phase during that time too, but since have focused on heavy compound lifts with enough triathlon-specific cardio to maintain a quasi-respectable endurance ability.

Summary: get your diet in check and squat heavy things.
irish pete ag06
AG
Session 24

Squat 210 PR
OHP 100 PR
Deadlift 245

It's great to work out with the weight I could barely squeeze out 5 reps with in January.
vic99
AG
Just started but I'm enjoying so far:
Session 8&9
Squat 135
Bench 170
Row 115