Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Stronglifts 5x5. Anyone followed this program?

264,269 Views | 1769 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Iowaggie
TommyGun
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Workout A Week 4

Squat: 155 5x5
Bench Press: 155 5x5
Rows: 100 5x5

I basically increased my squat and bench press to a new baseline this week (155lbs) and it felt great. I had been lifting for a few months prior to starting this routine so the increase in weight wasn't a big shock to my body. I feel like I am in a good spot with all of my lifts and things will start getting tough pretty soon. I'm excited about the coming weeks!
Furlock Bones
AG
Workout b
Squat 115 3 x 5 165 1 x 5 195 1 x 5
Overhead 55 5 x 5
Dead lift 105 5 x 2

Plus lat pull downs and incline bench

Too little of a workout still so had to add stuff.
PrestigeWorldwide11
AG
Honest question here. What weight do you start out with? I have already been doing bench regularly which I can do 185 3x10-12. Squats and deadlifts I need to work up since I'm coming off ACL surgery.

Anyways...how do you know what weight to start at? I feel if I did 5x5 of say 135 I feel like that wouldn't be a workout.
mid90
AG
I started at the bottom because I was a weakling.
Zeke1995
AG
ditto
TommyGun
AG
quote:
Honest question here. What weight do you start out with? I have already been doing bench regularly which I can do 185 3x10-12. Squats and deadlifts I need to work up since I'm coming off ACL surgery.

Anyways...how do you know what weight to start at? I feel if I did 5x5 of say 135 I feel like that wouldn't be a workout.

There really isn't an exact science to it. Since you've been lifting for a while, you could probably start off around 60-70% of your 1-rep max. The stronglift website gives some information for experience lifters.
NoneGiven
AG
You can always increment by more than 5 pounds if you find your starting weight is way too low.
Jetpilot86
AG
I did the 190 lb weakling plan also. Still 190, just not as weak....
bmks270
AG