Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Stronglifts 5x5. Anyone followed this program?

264,265 Views | 1769 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Iowaggie
Macpappy99
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm really enjoying this program. This is my first time back in the gym in years and what kept me away was time constaints. Now I'm able to get this done within 45 mintues and proceed on with my day. The scary part is how I look foward to my workouts.
Jetpilot86
AG
Three workouts while traveling this and next week so far, suboptimal equipment but I'm pushing some iron. We'll see how much the smith machines affect the next freeweight squats...
Zeke1995
AG
Smith machines get a lot of hate due to range of motion issues, but sometimes you have no real alternative. If you use one, keep in mind that the bar on a smith machine is not 45 lbs, and you will have to adjust the weight appropriately.
MattTheBrave
AG
I would suggest dumbbells over a smith machine, if there are some available. The smith machine will really make your form feel off and can increase the potential for injury.
Jetpilot86
AG
The weights are a bit heavy on squat for dumbells at this point. Thanks for the info on the bar weight, I had already noticed.

The 2nd time I was in that gym I found a small straight bar that I can use for everything but the squats and bench, there is no rack at all. So I got rows in and can do deadlifts until I use up their small quantity of plates...
Jetpilot86
AG
Workout "B" Week 6 Workout 3
Wgt ~190
Squat 5 x 5 x 125
Overhead Press 4 x 5 x 85, Missed one rep on the 4th set. grrrr
Deadlift 5 x 160

Been resting only 1:30 between OP sets, and was working in Germany in KG's and my last warmup set was a little bit heavier than it should have been. That probably was the difference on it today combined with a set on the Smith machine earlier in the week.

Back at it in a couple of days....
doodie2010
AG
Started week 7 this morning!

Squats: 5 x 135
Bench: 5 x 90
Row: 5 x 110