Outdoors
Sponsored by

2019 Western States Draw Deadlines

142,558 Views | 1407 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by cupofjoe04
cupofjoe04
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I took a buddy from Dallas out for a little fun in the San Juan's today.

We chased ducks around a mountain lake all morning. 3 grown men and a dog all piled into an old canoe. I sat in the middle so my buddy could have the front and shoot. It was fine until the dog started getting in and out, and filled the bottom of the canoe with 1/2" of icy cold water sloshing about. Being on my knees on a cold metal canoe with soaking pants for several hours... I was hurting at the end of it.

But we ended up with 7 ducks. My buddy was really having a rough time knocking them down at first. After a while of paddling around and watching him blast water and scare ducks, I started shooting too. I ended up with 5 and he finally got a few. There were geese and quite a few mallards, but they were so skittish. Neither would come close enough for shots, really. We managed a few hens, and a couple mergansers.

We Went looking for grouse next, and mostly just enjoyed driving and checking out the beautiful fall colors and took our 20 gauges for a walk. It is stunningly beautiful right now. No grouse, but no complaints either.

All in all, a good day was had!

ttha_aggie_09
AG
Mergansers! Congratulations... never shot one. Sounds like a fun hunt and the colors changing is awesome
shaynew1
AG
dang i wish i had some san juans in my backyard
lazuras_dc
AG
Looks awesome. Guessing you guys didn't get much snow ?

En route to Colorado right now ! No issues checking firearm. The only weird thing was TSA wanted to wipe down and test my game bags in my carryon for some reason.
BullSprig07
AG