Outdoors
Sponsored by

freshwater flyfishing

122,886 Views | 903 Replies | Last: 2 mo ago by docb
longeryak
How long do you want to ignore this user?
tlfw378 said:

I have many questions for the fly fishing gurus...if you don't mind helping out a complete novice to the sport.

First of all, thank you for all the pictures and accounts of your adventures. It inspires me to try and figure this sport out.

Secondly, a small request. Can you guys give the details of the gear you are using. Mostly, I'm interested in the equipment you choose to use. Rod/ reel/ lines. I just got back a few weeks ago from Montana, Idaho, and Wyoming. I'm expecting a return trip in the next year or so and I want to fly fish. Fly fish. Not bumble around in the rivers ruining everyone' else's fishing. So I want to practice and be as proficient and accurate caster as I can.

As a novice, I understand this is a journey, and most things, just have to be experienced to learn and could take me the rest of my life to master, if ever for this older coot.

If you were to recommend a good rod/reel/line for NW United States for a summer fly fishing trip that you would enjoy using, what would it be? I have seen prices and I understand it can be expensive. So, I think I'm prepared. I can save and get what I want. I would rather buy once and enjoy making memories.

I'm in The Woodlands Texas area and the only fly fishing store local to me is Orvis. I don't have any problem with them, except they don't have all the other fly fishing companies rod/reeels/line etc. Is a $120 fly line better then a $50 fly line of same weight and design features, ie. weight forward?

Thanks.
https://www.yellowstoneangler.com/gear-review/2020-five-weight-shootout/

2016-5-weight-reel-shootout

Oruc Reis
AG
Caught my personal best freshwater fish yesterday... monster smallmouth buffalo. They are spawning in the Dallas creeks right now. Wish I had some scales, at least 15lbs. heck of a fight!

TresPuertas
AG
dr_boogs said: