*** SW: The Last Jedi - FULL SPOILERS BE IN HERE ***

344,676 Views | 3129 Replies | Last: 6 mo ago by Definitely Not A Cop
Liquid Wrench
How long do you want to ignore this user?

Quote:

I'm a relative Star Wars beginner. I've watched the movies, but never really obsessed or went any further than what was presented before me.
Then you're like most people.
redline248
AG
Cstrickland05 said:

Ulrich said:

redline248 said:

The one thing I'll say about Rey ending up as a nobody is this:

Anakin was a nobody, albeit conceived by the force (apparently). Obi-Wan, for all we know, was a nobody. Probably Yoda, too. Powerful force users don't have to come from powerful force parents, especially since the Jedi didn't marry or believe in relationships.

However, there was some build up about her lineage in the eyes of most viewers during Force Awakens. Now it feels cheap.

Oh well.

I'm not concerned at all about her lineage, but in TFA she clearly has backstory. For example, Han recognizes her name. Leia appears to recognize her. Ren reacts strongly to the news that "a girl" helped the droid escape without even knowing her name. She's on Jakku. Luke's lightsaber gives her a crazy flashback. Her powers make no sense without real training. There's so much foreshadowing.

I strongly believe that when TFA was written she was supposed to be very involved with the academy and the Skywalkers when she was a child. Rian Johnson may have tried to kill that story line in TLJ, but there's no doubt in my mind that Abrams was going to do more than leave her as a fluke Mary Jane. He's too much of a Star Wars fan to be that inconsistent with how the universe works, so I think he'll salvage the story line in IX.

I kind of think that Johnson was supposed to develop Ren and try to more or less leave Rey in stasis for Abrams to pick back up. It would explain why he came up with plot filler instead of developing Rey.