Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Homebrew Board - Recipes

377,356 Views | 3347 Replies | Last: 12 hrs ago by hurricanejake02
Coy94
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Yup. I see where I read that wrong. Also, I'm sure the Facebook (which I rarely look at) site is probably updated more accurately than their website.

Did you enter anything?

Coy94
AlaskanAg99
AG
quote:
Yup. I see where I read that wrong. Also, I'm sure the Facebook (which I rarely look at) site is probably updated more accurately than their website.

Did you enter anything?

Coy94

I just started brewing again but that's the club I'm in. I didn't have anything ready in time. Consider the awards event, $25 for beer, food, pro-brewer Q&A.
khkman22
AG
Thinking of upgrading my pot from 8 gallons to 15 gallons. I'm looking at a MegaPot. Is it best to get it without the thermometer installed and only get the ball valve? I do BIAB and it seems like I saw where people said the thermometer drilled up higher gets in the way and can get hung on the bag. Also, I know the dials are usually not as accurate as some of the digital thermometers.
AlaskanAg99
AG
1) get a 15 gal pot. It makes such a huge difference. I've aways had megapots so I'm biased to them, they really well made but I have all older versions.
2) get a false bottom for it, it'll kep your bag suspended and also helps to hold hops back from the pickup tube.
3) the thermometer will stick out. So will a thermowells for a digital probe. I find the dial thermometer reads faster than a Ranco probe and I have them both on my MT.

In either case I would spend the $ up front to have them all welded on, try to stay away from weldless. It's just 1 less thing to break/leak and when you go to dump the kettle I'm always grabbing the fitting at the base of the ball valve.

In the future you may expand to a pump, so I'd make sure the ball valve is a full port 1/2. Some only open to 3/8ths.