Business & Investing
Sponsored by

millionaires

451,283 Views | 2070 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by 62strat
CapCity12thMan
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
guessing 529 plans count in this too?
gigemhilo
AG
I put my 529 in it. It's still under our control. I don't consider my kids savings, though - not that that amount is material.
UTex09
Great thread. Only 26 now, but my wife and I are well on our way. Both of us have contributed at the max to our 401k since graduation, recently bought a home with > 20% down, and are very (very) frugal. I take the blueprint from my parents - growing up we always lived well, but as I later found out, well below our means. Now, my dad is 61 and going to retire with $10MM+ in liquid assets in the next year or two. Perhaps in the minority, but he has never owned his own business, and has always worked for "the man." They paid for my college and everything that I did until I graduated, and I want to be able to do this for my children. I know that not having a car note, or student debt (or any debt at all until we just got a mortgage) set me (and my wife) WAY ahead of many people my age.

[This message has been edited by UTex09 (edited 8/22/2013 11:28a).]
AgBlitz
AG
Inspiring post about your folks. That's the blueprint I'm following as well. Payed off college loan debt after college as quickly as possible, lived way below means in a modest N. Dallas apt, maxed out 401k & Roth, built a solid emergency fund and drove the same car 10+ yrs. About the only thing I spent money on was travel (have one continent left to visit) after college.
Ulrich
I went on a frugality kick for a month because I needed to generate some extra cash for an unexpected large purchase. Even without breaking down by category, the amount by which I decreased my discretionary spending was an eye opener, and my habits will be better going forward.