Business & Investing
Sponsored by

millionaires

451,261 Views | 2070 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by 62strat
LMCane
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Kansas Kid said:

Don't forget, the accredited investor rule was originally done in 1982 and the metrics to qualify haven't changed except now your primary residence is excluded. I am generally speaking a "let the buyer beware" type but there and hate government regulations. That said, in this case, ask yourself if you really are knowledgeable enough to properly evaluate these investments. Just because you meet the financial requirements doesn't mean you suddenly have a lot more knowledge about investing. If you do think you have the knowledge, good luck. I hope you hit it out of the park.
Nope, you are correct, I have no background in real estate or angel investing. my entire career has been in legal/corporate and trade compliance in the defense industry.

which is why I am asking here for suggestions as to the best path forward. I love the idea of being able to invest $10K or $15K in different "angel" projects

but that also seems like basically playing a lottery ticket unless you have a background in Shark Tank.
Kansas Kid
LMCane said:

Kansas Kid said:

sirhc said:

It sounds like your income currently vastly exceeds your expenses...

Are you dumping the excess just into brokerage/retirement accounts? Are you looking at other forms of alternative investments?

Curious what strategy is once someone is exceeding retirement accounts and putting a healthy amt into brokerage.

If you plan to retire early, it is key to keep a substantial amount of money in non retirement accounts. To defer taxes as long as possible, I keep mine in low dividend paying index funds I can hold for a long time. I put in the high dividend payers and the shorter hold securities in my retirement accounts to minimize current taxes.
I assume you are talking about trying to avoid penalties for early withdrawal?