Business & Investing
Sponsored by

millionaires

451,208 Views | 2070 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by 62strat
BombayAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I am 42 and I am on course to hit 1MM in about 3 years.
My wife has been working for almost a year now that the kids are somewhat grown up. I have been investing for about 16 years.

I have aggressively paid off loans and have about 50% left on the house and about $23k left on my new car. I have more recently moved into Nasdaq ETFs and avoid trading.

My goal for this year is to duplicate my salary in capital gains (neglecting taxes).
Ragoo
AG
i am sure this was talked about but are you all considering total assets or investments plus cash?
gigemhilo
AG
I look at total assets less debt.

I'm sure others look at just total assets, but to me that is not an accurate representation. To me - when I think millionaire - that is talking about net worth. It is what you would get out of your estate if you were gone.

just my 2 cents.
BombayAg
Ragoo, I think the general definition for net worth as all assets minus all liabilities.
So I think it would be everything.

if I just look at assets, then I am very close to being a millionaire. All I do to become one today is get a loan out and VOILA!
gigemhilo
AG
BombayAg-

Sadly many people really do think this way. And thats why they are driving Porsches with debt up to their eyeballs!!
Ragoo
AG
quote:
Ragoo, I think the general definition for net worth as all assets minus all liabilities.
So I think it would be everything.

if I just look at assets, then I am very close to being a millionaire. All I do to become one today is get a loan out and VOILA!
sorry, when i said total assets I meant total worth (assets minus liabilities). didn't think i needed to be that specific.
The Original AG 76
AG