Business & Investing
Sponsored by

millionaires

451,296 Views | 2070 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by 62strat
Vestal_Flame
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
quote:
but there is value in a home

I agree. But people my age are frequently a little neurotic, I think, as a result of the fact that we've watched almost nothing but wild-ass volatility. I graduated from engineering school at A&M in 1999 and from law school in 2003. So, half my career happened after SHTF in 2007.

We've watched housing become an engine of wealth destruction, and the stock market isn't much better. The S&P is still roughly where it was on the day that I walked across the stage at Reed Arena... in 1999.

My attitude toward money is probably more like that of my grandparents than that of my parents. I think my brother, who is class of '90, is probably a lot more moderate and optimistic.

You say, 'housing' to my parents, and they say, 'steady appreciation.' You say housing to me, and I say, "wild national pump-and-dump."

[This message has been edited by Vestal_Flame (edited 2/1/2013 10:53a).]
Ag92NGranbury
AG
i agree that there has been bubbles in various asset classes over the years... tech, housing, etc

however...

there is still money to be made in those assets... but you must be disciplined and diversified!

interest only loan on a house that you can't afford? not a good investment decision

staying all in cash because you are worried about asset bubbles? not a good idea either

you say that the s&p hasn't really moved in a long time... while that might be true, you aren't accounting for dividends or gains inside the fund... which amounts to quite a lot over time (at least much more than a money market account)

as buffett once said, 'be greedy when others are fearful, and be fearful when others are greedy'

going against the herd is tough to do, but it can be very beneficial financially