Business & Investing
Sponsored by

millionaires

451,194 Views | 2070 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by 62strat
RightWingConspirator
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Dan Scott said:

Everybody I know that has become a millionaire did so because they started their own business. You're not going to get rich working for somebody else. They said it takes hard work, ability to take risks, and a little luck.
As a general rule, this is probably a true statement, but not always. We've reached the million in net worth club working for a major. We went from a net worth of -$40,000 when I graduated with my MBA to a net worth over over $1MM in about 11 years by living beneath our means, saving a ton, and decent investments.
sockerton
drill4oil78
AG
drill4oil78
AG
sockerton said:

It was pretty easy, it just takes discipline. I'm at 1.2MM total net worth with 0.85MM in the stock market. My new goal is to be a stock market millionaire. My prediction for the goal after that is to have a million in retirement funds. Finally my final goal will be 5 million in retirement funds and retire at 55. I'm in my lower 30's. I'm a boglehead.
Depends on what you think you need to live on. $5 mill in todays $$ will be worth far less when you reach 55. Healthcare at 55 for you could be an issue as far as monthly cost at your time of retirement. We will have another cycle like 2000-2009 in the stock market of zero returns in the future. If you are a buy and hold that can hurt your returns depending on when you retire or during retirement. Who knows what the cost or what kind of health care system we will have at in 20 years. Considering everything it could very well be Medicare for all when you are 55 or earlier. God help us. If so there will probably be a private insurance system for the ones that chose not to be in a gov't run medical. You will have to pay for two health care systems if you want decent care more than likely.