Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Ketogenic Diet

125,694 Views | 868 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by Lsprott
irish pete ag06
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Congrats on the good start! 15 pounds is a good drop. Remember that 6-10 pounds of that is likely water weight. Keto makes you diuretic and your body doesn't retain as much water.

I'll do my best to answer your questions, but I'm no expert by any means.

BBQ sauce is really tricky. A 2 tablespoon serving size can routinely have 12-20 grams of sugar in it. They make some sugar free BBQ sauce, but I just ended up making my own and buying some condiment bottles to put it in.

I haven't had any bread or chips (except 1 bag of quest chips) since I started. I'd stear clear because honestly, most bread is just pure sugar and simple carbs, which is just... sugar, basically.

I think early in the process you may notice some "bonking" when doing endurance activities, but most people's bodies become "fat adapted" in the 6-8 week range. It's like your body has to learn how to burn this new energy source efficiently. There are many examples of endurance athletes out there that follow a ketogenic diet.

The higher your body fat % is, the easier the weight will come off. You will very likely hit a plateau at some point. Most of the time, just sticking with the diet and being resilient will break you through. There are some other options to help bust through: intermittent fasting, protein sparing modified fasting, cardio, reducing or cutting out things like dairy, diet drinks, etc. Everyone's body is different and will respond to all of those in different ways.