Texas A&M Football
Sponsored by

80,000 A&M students in 10 years

285,836 Views | 1687 Replies | Last: 5 mo ago by Bill Superman
Fitch
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
quote:
Elitism: This is a good discussion and intelligent folks can disagree, as you and I do here.

Honestly, your response reinforces my contention (at least to me). You seem to be ascribing a monolithic attitude (which you believe to be undesirable) to an entire group of people and schools, i.e. East coast elite universities. How is THAT not "elitism"? You clearly feel we are, at least in some sense, "better" than they are, and isn't that the very crux of elitism?

I've heard this sort of comment about A&M a lot. The "blue collar" and "callused hands" stuff. For one, us becoming academically elite and as a result getting a bit smaller (from gargantuan to merely huge) has nothing to do with the attitudes you mention. Secondly, I've got some experience with those schools and if anything have found at least as much of an egalitarian attitude as I do amongst Aggies.
Well, I just spent too long typing out a response to this and after re-reading it I have to say I can get preachy real fast. I'll answer in depth in PM if you want, but my condensed responses are: