Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

BJJ

150,312 Views | 1312 Replies | Last: 7 days ago by Sweep4-2
O.G.
How long do you want to ignore this user?

Free Seminar (Fundraiser) at my gym. Gracie Humaita Austin. Paolo (owner) is a 6th degree blackbelt, so whomever is putting on the seminar must be good.

Casey is a friend of mine, actually from the same hometown, apparently having some health issues.
Moral High Horse
any Tap Out Cancer competitors here?
Apache
AG
There are a few from my gym that are going to be in it. The Austin tourney.
Purple belt, a blue & a white belt. I'll probably go if I don't have anything else going on to support them.
lazuras_dc
AG
I just decided Im going to train at the same BJJ gym my sons been going to for a month. Start in a few weeks. Can't let him get better than the old man. but also it would be cool to do some tournaments together. Ordered my custom mouthguard today (im a dentist and get it at cost )
Moral High Horse
lazuras_dc said:

.... but also it would be cool to do some tournaments

Day of the tournament you'll be like..."this isn't cool". During the match you'll be like, "this really isn't cool". But afterward you look back and think it was cool.
lazuras_dc
AG
For kids I assume tourneys are broken up to belt/age ? Or size ?

How is it set up for adults?
Sweep4-2
lazuras_dc said:

For kids I assume tourneys are broken up to belt/age ? Or size ?

How is it set up for adults?

Kids and adults are largely the same. Belt/age/weight class, with the intent to match people up in similar ways.

For kids there are more restrictions regarding submissions, time limits, etc. but pretty much the same. Different organizations use different rules, but the IBJJF rule set is pretty standard and widely used.
Consistency: It's only a virtue if you're not a screw-up.
Apache
AG
Anyone have any back issues? I stood up about 3-1/2 weeks ago and had a sudden pain in my lower back.