Houston
Sponsored by

HCAD 2021

29,692 Views | 321 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by BSME83
aTm_bomb
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
A is A said:

Morning!

I am new to Houston. Been in CT for the last 10 years. Just got a letter that my ARB Hearing is on 7/29. I did not know I submitted for a hearing.

It looks like they have the property value changing from 313,883 to 365,860. We bought the home for 373,000 back in November. It is a dramatic increase but the previous owner had two exemptions, and the 365860 is listed without our homestead added (still says pending).

Questions: is it worth going to the ARB Hearing. What are they looking for or asking for? Is it worth my time? How much will the Homestead lower my taxes?

Sorry for the questions - new to the area and this whole process is completely new to us.

Howdy!

You should see 2 values: Market and Appraisal (set as of 1/1/21). Appraisal is the value they will assess taxes on. The market is the value they say it is worth. They can only increase the appraised value by 10% per year so they will do so until the Appraised Value = Market value (but each subsequent year they probably will have moved your market value again).

In the year you buy the home, the 10% limit does not apply and they adjust your value to whatever they determine is the value, usually the selling price. In your case, its not worth disputing because your paid value is higher than they have assessed. Going to dispute, they are entitled to raise it more if they determine what you paid.

You cannot use the Homestead exemption in you first year of ownership. You can get it now but wont apply until next year (HS Exemption is usually ~20% off appraised value).

I think that covers your questions.
JJxvi
AG
It depends what kind of protest. There are two types of value protests. Market and Unequal Appraisal