Outdoors
Sponsored by

Birding

47,932 Views | 448 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by BMo
Post removed:
by user
AgGrad99
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG

The Big Year is a great movie.

(it's about birding)
jkc001
I saw my first Hummingbird of the year on March 16th. Didn't see another one until yesterday, March 26th. Now there are several coming to the feeders. (I live in Central Texas.)

Post removed:
by user
LEJ

Momma almost bit my face off when I got outta my truck and nearly stepped on her eggs.
Post removed:
by user
Caladan
Someone needs a pair of binoculars.

Just sayin'
LEJ
FAT SEXY said:

What species are those eggs from? They look cool

Think of something we all love to do in the fall, outdoors.
Duncan Idaho
LEJ said:

FAT SEXY said:

The op's mom? /Genboard
AggieGunslinger
AG
LEJ said:

FAT SEXY said:

Your growing BAS in your yard?
jkc001
I'm not an expert on Hummingbirds; learning as I go. What I've read is to avoid foods with the red dye. I make my own food by using 4 cups of water to 1 cup of plain cane sugar. Bring the water to a boil, then add the sugar, stir, and let it cool. I change the water in the feeders about every 3 days in an effort to minimize bacteria build up. (This is important!)

If someone can explain how to post photos, I've got some great ones of Hummingbirds that I'd be happy to share.
Post removed:
by user
LEJ

Terrible guesses
ttha_aggie_09
AG
LEJ said:

Terrible guesses
Excellent hint and I am shocked no one picked up on it! Me and the kids find killdeer nests almost every year. A couple of times they have been in the playground mulch.
zooguy96
I was going to say Killdeer based on where the eggs were. We had them all over our yard when I was a kid (old
Oilfield land where salt water was pumped in and created a basic sandlot with few weeds). We always enjoyed watching them fake a broken wing, and several times transferred eggs to other nests when the parents had abandoned them.