Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Did someone say chili?

143,594 Views | 342 Replies | Last: 4 mo ago by gigemJTH12
Garrelli 5000
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Doubling up the chili tonight. My wife generately hates when I make i because it always turns out with too strong of a chili powder, salt, pepper, love taste, etc. I've been experimenting for several years though.

Made some on Friday that we polished off today, and she said "make that again!" so I sent her shopping to double up the ingredients.

We'll see how it turns out since the last batch was a 110% complete experiement.

2 dumps, 3lbs chili

brown 3 lbs in 1 lb batches, set aside
dump 1
2tbsp chili powder
2tbspn garlic powder
1tbsp onion powder
1tbsp cumin

dump 2
same as above, but 1 tbsp bohners taco seasoning instead of cumin

a lot of salt with each dump, no idea how much

after browning meat straining, cook meat with 32oz approx tomato sauce. put in 16oz chicken broth, 2 tbsp beef bullion, and 20 oz or so of water. bring to boil then simmer 40 minutes.

Dump in spice 1 - simmer 40 minutes

Dump in spice 2, and put in 2 chipotle chili peppers (sometimes called peppers in adobo sauce) - simmer 25 minutes. remove peppers.

Store. Eat. Smile. Poop. Repeat.
The D
AG
made some green chili chili with a receipe sooner posted here a month or so ago. Roasted the green chili I had bought and froze from earlier in the year. Used green chili powder I ordered as well.

gigm09
AG
My wife is making chili for tonight. Our recipe uses the dried chilies rehydrated and no tomatoes or tomato paste (we do put beans in it though). Adding beer does sound good; will have to try that. For our rehydrated chili paste we use 4 anchos 2 pasillas and 10 arbols.
Gabster43213
What if my grocery store only sells jalapeƱo peppers?
civil08
AG
Thanks for the recipe Austin. I made it at the Mizzo game for our tailgate and it was a huge hit.
Sooner Born
quote: