Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Stock Markets

24,075,733 Views | 231775 Replies | Last: 6 hrs ago by El_duderino
Brewmaster
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
good to see you stop in! are you knee deep in VXX calls / hedges yet?
Jet Black
Options question. I'm just learning about options and wonder if this is a good idea, terrible idea, meh idea.

AMD sept 11th 86.50c

Thanks
McInnis 03
AG
Jet Black said:

Options question. I'm just learning about options and wonder if this is a good idea, terrible idea, meh idea.

AMD sept 11th 86.50c

Thanks

What's your goal with this? Write it, buy it, hold it to expiry, trade for profit?
khaos288
AG
Jet Black said:

AMD sept 11th 86.50c

Thanks

You're buying an in the money call?
Jet Black
McInnis 03 said:

Jet Black said:

AMD sept 11th 86.50c

Thanks

What's your goal with this? Write it, buy it, hold it to expiry, trade for profit?

Buy, Likely trade it before expiry
Jet Black
khaos288 said:

Jet Black said:

AMD sept 11th 86.50c

Thanks

Haven't bought anything yet and it is my understanding itm calls have less risk.
McInnis 03
AG
Jet Black said:

khaos288 said:

Jet Black said:

AMD sept 11th 86.50c

Thanks

Haven't bought anything yet and it is my understanding itm calls have less risk.

I own 100c for the same date so we are thinking the same direction. Itm calls have better delta and they have intrinsic value, so yes, less risk. This isn't crazy, if we get a $5 run or something like that you'll take advantage of most of it.

Itm and atm calls are great. Otm calls are dreams, and dreams are wonderful but many get dashed.
McInnis 03
AG
More to the point, AMD had an outside day today, it has to figure out what it wants to do. It's exploring this new range. It could breathe a few days, it could run. 9/11 gives you 5 days for it to work. If it breaks today's low 88.74 it could test 85 again. If it breaks 92.51 it could test the ATH
Jet Black
Very helpful. Thank you!
$30,000 Millionaire
AG