Outdoors
Sponsored by

1914 Aggie Ring

51,394 Views | 299 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by AZAG08
emkat
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
it just doesn't look that big. I'm pretty good at judging distances in yards, but I am not good at acreage. Bear in mind, the tank is at capacity and it appears it was at capacity when those images on pg. 3 were taken. Those trees are usually on dry land and the water rarely gets that close to the road. 2.5 acres seems a bit much, but I can't argue the scale on those images if correct.
confucius_ag
AG
No prob.

Sounds like a good excuse to haul the BBQ pit and make a day out of it.
AggiePetro07
AG
Seriously, lets do it in september and make a dove hunt out of the down times.
Arminius
I know this may be a stupid question but would the position of the tank have shifted at all in the past 80-odd years? Also, is there any way of telling how it was lost? If he was skipping rocks from the side closest to the road while throwing toward the pasture, it may give you a starting point.

Also, is there a way to section off the tank like a chess board so that you can methodically search (or re-search) given sections? Is scuba diving with a metal detector the only way? What if the metal detector's field can't penetrate the amount of silt burying the ring?

If the scuba efforts fail will you vacuum the bottom with a large diameter suction line and put a sluice with grating at the discharge?
andyboz
I'm up for some pond swiming, i got a snorkle set.
txaggie02
AG
I am up for a good pond swimming. I will bring some girls. I figure if I bring some hotties, next thing you know, we will have 45 guys out there "looking for a ring".
Nuke LaLoosh
AG
i'll seriously go just for the hell of it. this would be awesome
rilloaggie
AG
Have scuba will travel!
aalan94
AG
Awesome thread.