Home Improvement
Sponsored by

Remodeling my wife's grandparents old house

52,572 Views | 213 Replies | Last: 3 mo ago by vmiaptetr
schwack schwack
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'd love it - but we're on a lake & literally 3 of the 4 exterior walls are all crank out, metal casement windows - almost floor to ceiling. The 4th wall is built into a hill - no windows. The windows are why we bought it. The east facing front has a giant covered porch & the west wall is built into a hill - no windows - so it's more energy efficient than we thought it would be but furniture & art placement is a little tricky. That & if the wind is blowin' just right - you can feel it! Got a bigger HVAC unit with dehumidifying action that compensates & it's easy to make it comfortable all year.

vmiaptetr
AG
All the windows are in except for six because I am not a window expert and I didn't order the mullions for them. I'm gonna have Lincoln overnight me unfinished ones and their paint code so I can get them in there hopefully soon.
schwack schwack
AG
Those are beautiful.
aggie2812-2
AG
Curious on how much you spent on leveling the foundation if you don't mind saying. Might have to do something similar. Enjoy seeing the progress!
vmiaptetr
AG
It was just over $21k. Since I didn't have to save the flooring, they could bust through the slab on some parts. Otherwise they would have had to tunnel underneath the house, and that quote was for $37k.
aggie2812-2
AG
Thanks! That's around what I was thinking! Keep posting the pictures, I enjoying seeing them.
Roger That
AG
msechelski said:

It was just over $21k. Since I didn't have to save the flooring, they could bust through the slab on some parts. Otherwise they would have had to tunnel underneath the house, and that quote was for $37k.

Can buy a lot of flooring for $16k.
vmiaptetr
AG
I imagine it would have to be one of those situations where you are remodeling a historical house/building and needed to save the flooring.