Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Stock Markets

22,105,075 Views | 224603 Replies | Last: 22 min ago by Spoony Love
oldarmy1
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I think that stat doesn't take into account how many more traders who used to throw money into the markets have opted for limited loss through options.
azul_rain
whats the deal with boeing ? most analysts are bearish on it. i dont see how seeing its the largest defense contractor in the US. Yea they are in bad state right now but i dont see all the fuss
jamaggie06
AG
" Brilliant post! I'm just getting into spreads, ran a spread on BA on Friday b/c I didn't want to fork over big bucks for the calls. The spread smashed it and I banked a 4x trade on it

Interesting on the SPY credit spread in the money, so you're basically using it like a put? if SPY dips when you sell it, it's a money maker"

A couple points, a) you can use call or put spreads in any direction; a bull call spread is the same (and the same price) as a bull put spread (both profit the same on a rise in the underlying), and b) with a credit spread, you wouldn't be "selling it back", you'd be buying it back.

Example; sell a 305/310 call spread. Collect $3.50. Note, the max value of the spread is $5. You have to put up $1.50 in order to collect that premium (it goes into a restricted cash holding in your account). If the stock stays above 310 at expiration, you will have to use all 100% of that cash (of which, $3.50 was credited to you, and $1.50 of your cash was required to be in holding). Hence, you lost the $1.50. But, if the stock closes at 304, both options are worthless, and you can just let it expire (or buy the spread for $0.01) and the next day after expiration (or immediately after you buy the spread "back") the "restricted" cash is no longer restricted, its just yours, i.e. you made $3.50 (or $3.49).