Post pictures of old farm equipment

77,253 Views | 295 Replies | Last: 7 mo ago by jejdag
CanyonAg77
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm a halfway decent amateur photographer, and I've been asked to post a few pics for different things. For instance, I just put up some of my Panhandle Pictures on another thread. And I've been asked before to post some antique tractor pics. Well, I finally accumulated enough of those to make a thread. I invite others to post, along the lines of the bad@$$ cars thread and the crazy cars thread

So here's a few to get started....

These first three were all collected by my late father, class of '49.

First year of JD Model G production, currently on display at the Hale County Farm and Ranch Museum:

1938 unstyled G John Deere by CHS Girls Soccer, on Flickr

A late 40s or early 50s Gibson Super D2, made in Longmont, Colorado. Also at HCFRM.

Gibson Super D-2 by CHS Girls Soccer, on Flickr

Gibson Model A. Note lack of hood and steering wheel. Lever on operator's right steers the tractor. Also at HCFRM.

Gibson A by CHS Girls Soccer, on Flickr

[This message has been edited by CanyonAg77 (edited 4/26/2012 12:13p).]
CanyonAg77
AG
Here's a special one. A 1938 John Deere "Unstyled" model L. 1937 was the first year of production, and a mere 62 were made. In 1938, only 1501 were made before a styling change was made. Here's one of those 1501.

IMG_2653 by CHS Girls Soccer, on Flickr

The mighty 56.5 cubic inch (0.93 liters for the metric guys) Hercules two cylinder engine put out a blistering 10hp at the belt pulley. Only the first 2827 built used this Herc engine, the last 10,538 used a John Deere engine.

Here's a closeup of the grill, this is what an "unstyled" L front end looks like

John Deere Unstyled L by CHS Girls Soccer, on Flickr

This photo of an LA (higher horsepower version of L) shows what a "styled" grill looks like. Internet photo, not mine.