Outdoors
Sponsored by

BGE or Kmado Joe

25,385 Views | 214 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Blahhead
schmendeler
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
The guy that does all the "official" videos tented the shoulder he cooked. Seems like a nice compromise.
Juicyfan
I'm not an expert, but I've never wrapped or sprayed my pork butts, and they have all come out great. The only reason to wrap it would be, if you needed it to finish cooking faster. My advice is to put a drip pan under them (filling it with water will help regulate your temps) though I doubt it does much for moisture in the meat. Drippings from my first pork butts ran out the lower vent and stained the stone I have my egg on.

If you are having trouble regulating your temps you are probably lighting to much of the charcoal in the beginning. (This is called "over-fireing your lump"... Which I just like to say). I usually light my charcoal in two places for slow and low cooking. Let it burn for 5 minutes, then close the lid and start shutting down the vents until it settles around 250. Also the top vent needs to be closed way more than I thought it would. It is only open a sliver.
agcrock2005
AG
Quote:

Seems like parties are split between wrapping it in foil once it reaches 165 versus leaving it open and spraying with liquid to keep it moist... Guess I'll decide when I get there.
I wrap not because you have to, but I like to get the shoulder nice and dark from smoke and then put it in a foil pan and wrap until it hits about 195. Then I pull and let rest for a couple hours. When you remove the foil there's a ton of injection and juices that were caught so when you pull it you can then rehydrate the pulled pork with that delicious liquid you saved. Strongly suggest injection with some sweet and salty and then tryinig this method.

Full disclosure: I've never done this on a ceramic. I imagine it's the same except you won't get as much smoke flavor.
Dr. Venkman
AG
'03ag said: