i-40 bridge at Memphis closed due to crack found.

25,578 Views | 234 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by AlaskanAg99
cbr
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Valhalla said:

aggiehawg said:

Another angle.

Right near the center pylon.

Holy **** that a big break. No way is that the only break in that bridge.
no way they shouldnt have caught that crack growing for a long time before that.....
Burdizzo
AG
Ag with kids said:

aggiehawg said:

Burdizzo said:

A couple of fish plates, some 7018 rods, and a Millet Bobcat welding machine, and she'll be good as new.
Maybe you can't answer this but is it significant that the steel failed away from the rivets, instead of at the rivets???
Yes.

It IS significant.

And I don't know how often they inspect that bridge, but that COMPLETE FAILURE of the steel integrity didn't just happen in a short time.

Actually, I would suggest that the lack of rust staining around the break indicates it happened pretty suddenly

(I am not a structural engineer)
agent-maroon
AG
I see rust on the crack surface in the OP photos. Maybe they've been painting over the crack so there wasn't any greater surface rust area?
No material on this site is intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. See full Medical Disclaimer.
GiveEmHellBill
AG
96AgGrad
AG
aggiehawg said:

96AgGrad said:

They just need to extend that gusset plate a couple feet. That should do'er.
Frankly I am surprised at the number of posters who say dumb crap like that.

Shame on you.
I would trust that most would realize it was tongue-in-cheek.
fixer
OnlyForNow said:

That's not a crack, it looks completely broken and shifted.

Yeah not a crack that is an actual failure. Now the rest of the structure has to take that stress... so definitely more indications will be found.

They will have to UT every square inch of that bridge.
Muy
AG
MouthBQ98 said:

Some offshore rig welder could fix that better than new in 48 hours for $10K.