Story Poster
Olympic Update
Around Aggieland
Texas A&M Football

Around Aggieland (7/30)

July 30, 2021

During Friday's edition of TexAgs Radio, the fishbowl's own Richard Zane joined to share updates from the latest in Aggie Athletics as there is plenty to run down from the Olympics to football accolades and much, much more.

Athing Mu made her Olympic debut in the first round of the women’s 800m on Thursday.

  • Mu won heat three, posting a time of 2:01.10 to advance to the semifinals on Saturday.

Austin Krajicek and his doubles partner Tennys Sungren fell in the Bronze medal match on Friday morning to New Zealand’s Michael Venus and Marcus Daniell.

  • The Americans fell in straight sets - 7-6, 6-2.

Incoming freshman Aviv Barzelay finished eighth in semifinal #2 of the women’s 200m backstroke.

  • The Israeli national team member posted a time of 2:12.93.
  • Barzelay did not advance to the final.

After two rounds, Spain’s Adri Arnaus is tied for 15th at -5 for the tournament.

  • Arnaus shot -2 in round two.
  • Round three begins at 5:30 p.m. CT on Friday night.

Adaora Elonu posted 6 points in Nigeria’s 87-62 loss to France in the preliminary round.

  • Elonu played 26 minutes and also tallied 4 rebounds.
  • Nigeria is now 0-2 in Group B and will play Japan on August 2.

In heat one of the mixed 4x400m relay, Bryce Deadmon and the United States were disqualified after a takeover zone violation.

  • Charokee Young did not run in the first round of the mixed 4x400m relay for Jamaica as the Jamaicans placed third in heat two to qualify for Saturday’s final.
  • CORRECTION: Deadmon and the United States Mixed 4x400m relay team has qualified for Saturday’s final after being reinstated. The reinstatement occurred after the conclusion of the Around Aggieland segment on TexAgs Radio.

On Monday, senior linebacker Aaron Hansford was named to the 2021 Butkus Award Watch List.

  • The Butkus Award is given annually to the best linebackers at the high school, collegiate and professional football.
  • Von Miller is the only Aggie to win the Butkus Award, doing so in 2010.

On Tuesday, it was announced that junior defensive lineman DeMarvin Leal was named to the 2021 Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list.

  • The Nagurski Trophy is awarded annually to the defensive player that the Football Writers Association of American deems the best in the NCAA.
  • An Aggie has never won the Bronko Nagurski Trophy.
  • On Friday, it was announced that Leal has been named to the Walter Camp Player of the Year watch list. An Aggie has never won the Walter Camp Award.

Also on Tuesday, junior offensive lineman Kenyon Green and sophomore defensive lineman McKinnley Jackson were named to the preseason watch list for the 2021 Outland Trophy.

  • The Outland Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s top interior lineman.
  • Luke Joeckel is the only Aggie to win the Outland Trophy, doing so in 2012.

On Wednesday, sophomore punter Nik Constantinou was named to the 2021 Ray Guy Award Watch List.

  • The Ray Guy Award is given annually to the nation’s best punt.
  • Braden Mann is the only Aggie to win the Ray Guy Award, doing so in 2018.

On Thursday, senior DB Keldrick Carper was named to the 2021 Wuerffel Trophy Watch List.

  • The Wuerffel Trophy is known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service”
  • Trevor Knight is the only Aggie to win the Wuerffel Trophy, doing so in 2016.

Also on Thursday, junior wide receiver/running back Ainias Smith was named to the 2021 Hornung Award Watch List.

  • The Hornung Award is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football.
  • An Aggie has never won the Hornung Award.

On Thursday, Texas A&M baseball announced that Jeremy McMillan has been retained as the Aggies’ Sports Performance Coach.

  • The 2022 season will be McMillan’s 11th with Aggie baseball.

Men’s Basketball
On Wednesday, the Southeastern Conference announced home and road opponents for the 2021-22 season.

  • The 2021-22 season will feature 18 conference games.
  • Texas A&M will host Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Missouri and South Carolina this year.
  • The Aggies’ road trips will be Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Georgia, LSU, Ole Miss, Missouri, Tennessee and Vanderbilt.
  • Dates, times and TV details will be released at a later date.
Discussion from...

Around Aggieland (7/30)

2,990 Views | 0 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Big Shooter
There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.