Post your Shelby Metcalf quotes here

78,161 Views | 189 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by HECUBUS
mtp2007
How long do you want to ignore this user?
TAMC66
wisdom, yes I was at that game. Your analysis is correct, we got blasted in the press and all of the tv stations in H'town. All of the tv stations showed the brawl but none of them showed the foul that started it all. I remember Steve Niles throwing punches right and left, after all he has 7 foot or more.

I also remember Bill Brown from Galveston Ball going over to the gaylor bench and confronting their sole black player, Leon Frazier(?) to get up and fight him. I also remember the gaylor guy who fouled Peret leaving the floor with a bloody face, and never remember him playing basketball again, ever.

Coach Melcalf grabbed the microphone from the PA announcer, Roger Feldman (?) and started calling "Aggies!, Aggies!" Order was quickly restored after that.
purplehorn3
As a Texas grad, I must say I have enjoyed the color that Metcalfe and Lemmons brought to the game in the days of the SWC.

Not sure which one said this, but it could have been either one of them:

Setting: After the game...which was lost when a certain player ( we shall call Jones ) missed two free throws towards the end.

Jones: "Coach, I am sorry about missing those free throws"

Coach: "Don't worry son..I am the one who is sorry"

Jones: "Why are you sorry coach?"

Coach: "Because I'm the sum***** that recruited you"

Like I said it could have either been Lemmons or Metcalfe.

Hook'em
wisdom
AG
TAMC66 - Interesting input. Good testimony of Coach Metcalf’s stature and influence. His voice over the PA system stopped a brawl, and most of those involved were not his basketball players.

[This message has been edited by wisdom (edited 2/18/2007 7:56p).]
Jaydoug
AG
My father remembers a intro to the Metcalf basketball program where it zooms in on a casket and coach sits up and says, 'We ain't dead yet!'
Jaydoug
AG