Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Whats in your wine cellar?

1,282,784 Views | 10513 Replies | Last: 1 day ago by bularry
ILikeTacos
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
BSD said:

I have a few Absurds from '12 and '13. I'll give the '12 a taste next year. The massive increase in price on those turned me off, though. I didn't purchase the '14.

Edit: I tried the '14 out of the barrel and it was fantastic! But for the price...not for me.
How much? Since this is my first time to get an allocation I don't have a good basis for that price point.

I bought a '15 Moonracer from the winery but only one bottle as the price was about $265. Those higher priced ones I try to only have one or two of.
aggiejumper
AG
Absurd was $375 for the release last fall. Way too much for me. Who knows what it is this year.

Moonracer is pretty high priced too. Heck, Napa is all getting too high very quickly.
ILikeTacos
AG
aggiejumper said:

Absurd was $375 for the release last fall. Way too much for me. Who knows what it is this year.
Yeah that is a little ..... absurd. And again I love Realm wines, but this latest greatest sensation of my favorite vineyards releasing stuff at $300 plus is kicking my backside.
BigAg95
AG
ILikeTacos said:

aggiejumper said:

Yeah that is a little ..... absurd. And again I love Realm wines, but this latest greatest sensation of my favorite vineyards releasing stuff at $300 plus is kicking my backside.
As curious as I am to try something like that, the fact that I can get any number of phenomenal wines for $37.50 keeps me from pulling the trigger.
BSD
AG
Looking back at my files, I paid $200 for the 2012 Absurd. The almost double price increase in 2 years turned me off more than the absolute price.

Even the single vineyards are pricing me out. But like I said, it's hard for me to say no. I've been buying Realm since 2004 vintage and they've made some good juice over their years! I'll stick with a few Bards and possibly some Crane (on the next release).