Business & Investing
Sponsored by

People still complaining about Midland/Odessa

10,876 Views | 78 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by 94chem
Serviam
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Is it just me or are Midland/Odessa nice as hell now? I've been going to the Permian for the last 16 years or so since I graduated and man it's not only so much better than it used to be; it's actually nice now, but I still hear people grumbling about how much it sucks.

They've got great restaurants in that new plaza where the Cork and Pig is at; Ratliff ranch is a pretty fun and affordable 18 holes of golf, and the new Marriott Convention Center is A+++, the restaurant there is amazing; they've got a great breakfast hash casserole you've got to try.

After staying in Grand Junction or Pecos or Williston or Waynesburg, Odessa is like a jewel now.
Complete Idiot
https://texags.com/forums/40
Serviam
Complete Idiot said:

https://texags.com/forums/40

Oof
Hoyt Ag
AG
I would rather saw my balls off with a rusty spoon than live in Midland/Odessa. Spent 3 years there off and on and would rather work in the ME again.
JDCAG (NOT Colin)
AG
We passed through on the way to Santa Fe last month and it was way nicer than I expected/remembered.
Brother Shamus
lol - some people never leave home.
Eliminatus
AG
It's nicer. Still wouldn't say "nice" though. Born and raised in Odessa. It's still a ****ing cesspool and I'd rather see what a 9mm tastes like than ever go back permanently. I also have a lot of negative memories though admittedly. I also highly suspect you are not traveling in the same areas in the Permian Basin as I do. So I guess it's all relative in the end.

PeekingDuck
AG
I don't think I'd ever categorize it as 'nice as hell', but they are definitely not terrible places. I certainly don't mind spending a few days there on work trips, but I don't know if I'd want to live out there.
harge57
AG