Texas A&M Football
Sponsored by

did gen van alstyne resign?

30,331 Views | 270 Replies | Last: 14 yr ago by DevilD77
HBCanine08
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I thought GVA reported directly to the president
GI
deleted.

[This message has been edited by GI (edited 1/27/2010 4:44p).]
HBCanine08
AG
thank you, sir. I think it was just his time. He tried to resign before.
jh0400
AG
quote:
like it had been every year except under Murano.

Didn't this have something to do with the ranks of the individuals holding the office.

I seem to remember reading somewhere that for whatever reason (I don't claim to be an expert on flag officers) that Lt. Gen. Van Alstyne couldn't report to Lt. Gen. Weber.
HBCanine08
AG
I'm no expert either, but does it matter that Weber's position is a civilian one?
Jock 07
AG
from my understanding it's more that he wouldn't rather than he couldn't
HBCanine08
AG
Army, USMC conflict?
dchack1971
AG
You need a leader that understands the new military and the students of today we have one already on campus.
Jock 07
AG
more like an O9/O9 conflict
HBCanine08
AG
Are you nominating yourself dc?
GI
deleted.

[This message has been edited by GI (edited 1/27/2010 4:44p).]
deadzip10
AG
Personally I would support Weber having met him but I think he's more useful to the Corps where he is now...find someone else who he can work with to fill the commandant position...
tiger08
Service in Iraq and Afghansitan would do little to help prepare cadets for the furture as leaders in the military. Iraq and Afghansitan are changing so quickly, by the time a freshman goes through the corps, through his requisite military training and finally sees action, the circumstances of each will be greatly different.

Plus, the problems a general are facing in iraq of Afghanistan are a little different than what a junior officer would face. Not to mention, Iraq and Afghanistan are far different for the USN and USAF than they are for the USMC or USA.
jh0400
AG
quote: