Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Just got a Peloton bike

459,785 Views | 4208 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by txags92
gvine07
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Today's "well duh!" Lesson: stretching is good.

Last night I stretched for 20-30 minutes while watching The Last Dance (Bulls documentary) and this morning I had my easiest PR ever (wasn't shooting for it). I'm 99.9% sure it's because of the stretching.

I've always had insanely tight muscles, which has always made me hate stretching. I almost always do a 5 minute stretch after rides but know I should do more. One of the nice parts of Peloton is I can see the immediate results.

I'm sure everybody knows this, but just a friendly reminder to get a good stretch!
singer10
AG
Absolutely. Check out the beginners yoga classes with Dennis if you liked doing those stretches. I've never done yoga before but he does a great job walking you through everything and not making the poses too difficult. I have started doing some of the 10 minute yoga classes after the 5 minute post ride stretches and it makes a huge difference in the way I feel.
gvine07
AG
My wife has been saying the same thing for months

My muscles are so tight everything in yoga is uncomfortable. I'm sure I could power through for 2 weeks and be ok, but I'm not out of excuses to start doing that.
singer10
AG
My wife was doing the prenatal yoga and I started doing those with her just because they modify the poses so much for the pregnant ladies. Get you a set of yoga blocks off Amazon and try a few of those classes out and you'll be amazed at how fast you loosen up. I am up to doing 30 minute yoga classes now and am able to hold pretty much everything the instructor calls out. I don't look good doing it but it is amazing how much more bendy I have become.
JoeOlson
AG