Kreuz Market opens Monday February 2

46,142 Views | 290 Replies | Last: 9 yr ago by originaltexan
dgonzo99
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I guess the least Kreuz can do is post instructions on how to open a packet of sugar and stir it in the tea.
WTM
I just have to mention this based on the "tradition" of sweet tea. When I graduated high school in the early 90's, there was no such thing as sweet tea in a restaurant in this part of Texas. Unheard of. I went to college in Virginia and remember being shocked when tea had sugar in it already. In fact, in most of the South East you could not get unsweetened tea at that time. So sweet tea may be a tradition now, but it came here sometime in the early 2000's.
FlyRod
About the same time the uptick in "diabeetus" began.
95_Aggie
AG
As a native Texan, the first time I ever had sweet tea offered to me in a restaurant was in 1999 on a trip to Atlanta. I thought it was strange back then ... definitely a deep south thing.

It hasn't been a staple in Texas for very long.
ksp
quote:
About the same time the uptick in "diabeetus" began.
Sweet tea on average is twice the sugar of coke. so yup you are right!
dgonzo99

AggieJason
AG
I went on Tuesday and was thoroughly unimpressed. (I've been to the original location before and loved it, BTW.)

It took me 10 minutes to get through the line that was less than 5 people long. The process seemed disorganized.

I got 1/4lb. of brisket and the jalpeno cheese sausage.

The brisket was either too dry or too fatty depending on which slice I was eating. I attribute this to an unsure butcher as someone previously suggested. It was entirely unremarkable. It would have been 10x better with sauce.