Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Whats in your wine cellar?

1,260,782 Views | 10413 Replies | Last: 10 hrs ago by QBCade
ILikeTacos
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I also like going to Jordan because it is just such a beautiful place and grounds. Just my opinion.
Matsui
AG
I'm a relative wine noob, as in I know what I like and tend to buy around the same price points etc etc.

Is there a comprehensive rating guide that will show the best or highest rated wines at each price point, say less than $10, less than $20, less than $30, less than $40, less than $50 etc? Or are the wines broken down by varietals. Are there some rating guides that you trust less than others?
FarmerJohn
AG
Matsui,

I really don't have one but what your asking is an objective answer to what is a subjective question. I think the key is to try variations on what you like and compare. Ratings are helpful to find an option, but they should be a component in the decision on what to drink and not the driver. I say this as someone who still looks at ratings in magazines, but maybe less than what I use to do.
cecil77
AG
Agree. And within ratings, find one you agree with a couple of times and then use it.

I would suggest splurging on an acknowledged excellent bottle (plenty of recommendations in this thread) at a price point that's above your norm, just to establish in your mind what is generally considered to be excellent wine.
JM04
AG
We have landed in Oakland, and missing the only bag we checked. It had all our shoes and my wife's makeup and hair things. Hopefully it makes it to yountville by 7

How terribly under dressed would I be in nice cowboy boots and nice jeans for Bouchon
ILikeTacos
AG
quote:
We have landed in Oakland, and missing the only bag we checked. It had all our shoes and my wife's makeup and hair things. Hopefully it makes it to yountville by 7

How terribly under dressed would I be in nice cowboy boots and nice jeans for Bouchon