Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Whats in your wine cellar?

1,276,043 Views | 10508 Replies | Last: 1 day ago by QBCade
reload85
How long do you want to ignore this user?
BSD, how was the 89? I have a couple of bottles 89 Lagrange, the St. Julian estate. I had a bottle in May and I feel that they still has a couple of years left. I need to get down to business and enjoy them soon.
BSD
AG
It was really good and a nice change of pace to have some older Bordeaux. I'm not sure about your 89s but this one was probably at its peak. A lovely wine though.
bularry
I've had a couple of Cahors I really liked that were near $20, can't remember.

the problem is finding very much of it. go by the importer to judge the quality (if you are choosing blind)
jpb1999
AG
I just bought a Honig 2011 cab... Twin Liqours is having their cost + $1 sale. Any recs on when to drink it or its quality?

I am a wine novice in knowledge but want to taste what a really good red could taste like. Any recs under around $50 or so.

In the past have always bought cheaper pinot noirs (under $20) but have grown tired of them as they seem dull tasting. Have started to enjoy dry whites as in chardonays. Just bought a newton unfiltered that I can't wait to try. But again would like a good red recommendation.

TIA
cecil77
AG
Honig makes a nice wine. Now-ish is a good time to drink it. It will be fine and even improve for a few years, but it's not a cellar bottle I don't think..

Chateau Montelena is a good under $50 as well. Stat's Leap Wine Cellars Artemis lists for over fifty, but is a low as $32 upon occasion. Really a good value at that price.
HTownAg98
I had a La Storia the other night, and it was pretty good. Around $32 I think. The Round Pond red label cab is pretty good as well in that $30 range.
BSD
AG
For the Hobel wine fans, I have it on good authority that the '12 vintage that is now being released is the "best one yet."
Atty_Ag