Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

THE BEER THREAD

7,676,424 Views | 62649 Replies | Last: 1 hr ago by steve00
Hickory High
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Also what's everyone's shape preference when it comes to beer glasses?
Scriffer
AG
I use mostly tulip glasses:

And Teku Glasses:

Allegedly I should get some IPA glasses:

But in all honesty, my palate isn't sensitive enough to tell the differences between them all. It's just for fun as far as I'm concerned.
Quincey P. Morris
AG
I've pretty much got the styles covered by glass and check rate beer for the suggested glasses.
Hickory High
AG
quote:
I've pretty much got the styles covered by glass and check rate beer for the suggested glasses.

I'll do that. And Scriffer I'm the same way. I'm still learning how to taste all the little details.
dave99ag
AG
The IPA glasses look, um, odd.
BSD
AG

coincidence?

(please excuse the bottom up view, this was the most appropriate image I could find at it came with it. I did find some other cool photos I could share, but not on this site)
AgEng06
AG
That's one way to take it...
dave99ag
AG
Really changes the thought of when BSD says he wants to put his d in it.
NColoradoAG
You basically need three glasses:

Pint: Pale Ale, IPA, DIPA, Stouts, Porters, Browns, Lagers
Tulip: IPA, DIPA, Belgians, Wild Ales
Snifter: Barleywines, Imperial Stouts, Barrel Aged Beers

Just about everything is a variation of those three styles.
Whoop04
I am a barbarian and only use pint glasses. My reasons are that A) other types of glass tend to break more easily, B) i like to buy pint glasses from breweries that I like. Harder to do with specialty glassware, C) I am not a sommelier nor claim to be one.
dave99ag
AG
I've drank plenty of beer snsnobbery from solo cups. Good beer is good beer.
NoneGiven
AG
That IPA glass looks suspiciously like a stout glass
http://www.amazon.com/Spiegelau-Beer-Classics-Stout-Glass/dp/B00K0JFP5Q

Just ribbed for his pleasure
Jock 07
AG
But are you a cicerone?