Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Mutual Funds and ETFs

5,820 Views | 45 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by Aggie Dad 26
Aggie Dad 26
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Which Index/Mutual fund are you using and why?

I have SWPPX. I honestly jumped into this one within days of my learning phase. As silly as it sounds, because I use Charles Schwab, that played into my decision. SCHWAB S&P 500 INDEX SWPPX. Basically I used the old "Use GM parts on a GM vehicle," approach.

However, I've killed hours of my time learning about mutual funds and ETFs, and I don't regret my choice one bit. I needed something I could throw odd number dollars at and not have to buy complete shares. The performance numbers, and the reviews on SWPPX are really good.

I'd love to hear what the rest of you are using and your thoughts. It goes without saying, but I'm still very new to this.
nactownag
AG
I think for where you are today you should keep socking away money in that fund. You'll do well.

When you accumulate more funds you can start to evaluate new opportunities for places to invest. Or you can keep buying that fund for nearly your whole life and you'll do well most likely.

Good job starting early.
OldArmyCT
AG
You did good.
VOO is Vanguard's S&P 500 ETF, SWPPX has an expense ratio of .02%, VOO's is .03% but their performsnce is almost exact, 15,76 vs 15.77 over 5 years. Keep adding, especially when the market takes it's inevitable 10% swoon.
bmks270
AG
Spyder sector ETFs.

LMCane
bmks270 said:

Spyder sector ETFs.

I am huge into ETFs. just a few of my holdings:

XLE
XLF
XLI
VOO
ONEQ
DIA
IWM
SPY
XBI
VTSAX
GoldMiners
Agsquatch
AG
It depends on a few things...
- what kind of account is it in?
- what's your time horizon?
- how much are you invested currently?
- Are you making new investments? Are you withdrawing?