Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Houston..we have a problem....

7,279,497 Views | 28677 Replies | Last: 1 hr ago by Drillbit4
rak1693
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Any student or former student from the Texas A&M University System may attend the SEC Engineering career fair as long as they have a way to prove they are/were a student. Your Aggie ring would suffice as proof you were a student. This was the case when I graduated last year. You can call the SEC office to double check.
Dr. Doctor
AG
When I graduated but was still working for A&M, I would just show my Aggie ring and walk by the desk.

Never got stopped; much easier than pulling out the ID card.

~egon
IrishTxAggie
AG
Well that's stupid...
Haystack
Here are some unconventional ways I have seen students and new grads get geology jobs in the recent past:

-A&M career fair while they are in grad school somewhere else
-AAPG student expo (Houston student expo, Rocky Mountain Rendezvous, etc)
-Presenting research and networking at AAPG ACE
-Industry contacts from grad school research
-Mudlogging/wellsite geology for the operator of your choice (these jobs are easy to get and you are way overqualified) --> do a great job --> leverage into internship or part-time work --> full-time geologist
Ag2012
AG
FYI I'm a PETE grad and I just got this email:

The Texas A&M University Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering is pleased to announce that it will host an alumni reception at the 2018 SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE). The reception will be held at the Omni Hotel, 555 S. Lamar Street, Dallas, Texas, Trinity Ballroom 4,8 (third floor), on Monday, September 24, from 5:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. We ask that alumni planning to attend register online at (https://tamu.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_cZ4XOc33ArtHhbL).
Rock Ag
AG
Thanks for all the info guys, I'll be sure and attend as many as possible.
jaggiemaggie
AG
Anyone here with Sable Permian Resources?
nu awlins ag
AG