Texas A&M Football
Sponsored by

Importance of T-Star from a Traditional Aggie

31,078 Views | 160 Replies | Last: 9 yr ago by Leonardo da vinci
Cinco Ranch Aggie
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
My current A&M cap of choice is a maroon ballcap with the simple white T, no block ATM. tu thinks they represent all of Texas but they do not.

While I am not a fan of the T-star, it has been with us for a very long time as it is part of the university seal.

I loathe the beveled ATM.
88jrt06
AG
Ever see this at a game?

Rice always had huge banners:

e.aTm.e or eaTme <---just too easy a mod

That, and the fact that the non-T Star looks like some guy carved it in HS woodshop, led me straight to the T-Star, simple and classy.

No contest, and I'm not New Army.
poofyhairguy
Disclaimer: I do marketing for a living. Yes I know I suck.

From the first semester I went to A&M (Class of 06), I absolutely loved the T-Star. From a branding perspective it is so much better than the traditional cash dispensing logo that it's not even funny.

In fact it used to hurt me a little, because I am so into marketing. I would wear my T-Star visor all over campus, and would try to stir up sentiment towards the logo. I bought everything T-Star I could (not much) and really tried to be a T-Star Aggie.

Other Aggies basically thought I was crazy.

And since then I realized that the T-Star is crazy.

I mean on its own it's great, maybe one of the best pieces of marketing ever to come out of A&M. I thank whoever created it. But as far as branding goes, its dead in the water.

The "beveled T" is a established logo with decades of history. Even though it is not nearly as popular in the state as the Longhorn or (recently ) the TT logo, the "beveled T" has an emotional and nostalgic tie to old Aggies that keep them coughing up the bucks.