Houston
Sponsored by

HCAD 2023

50,039 Views | 436 Replies | Last: 2 mo ago by aTm_bomb
Dr. Venkman
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Aggie71013 said:

The adjustments are my biggest gripe. There is no transparency as to how they're calculated, you seemingly can't argue against them, and they're constantly used as the basis for higher evaluation. It'd garbage that the appraiser can't at a minimum the basis for them.
They have an adjustments chart. You can ask for it. They gave it to me once. I'll see if I can dig it up.

edit: I couldn't find it, but I found this on reddit. This is what the chart looks like, although this one is a few years old.

AgLA06
AG
Dr. Venkman said:

I've been doing my own protests for 16 years now and if you're going into the formal hearing with only "comps" as your evidence, you'll lose. From the board's perspective, it's like being your own witness against a traffic ticket for rolling a stop sign. If your only defense is "I didn't do it", you'll lose. Yes, I understand "comps" are evidence, but the point is you are completely biased because the selected comps lower your personal taxes vs. the appraiser's comps don't affect him one bit. He may be biased, but you're 100x more.

Look at their evidence pack before you go and do research on each of their comparable properties. Look for anything that can justify a different adjustment than they used. Better location, nicer curbs appeal, etc. Take pictures of your ****ty house vs. the comparables.

But in the end, you'll lose in the formal 9 times out of 10. A homeowner with a vested interest in the outcome vs. a somewhat unbiased professional appraiser. Again, it's like a driver being his own witness vs. the cop that wrote you the ticket. Unless you get a sympathetic jury, you're going to lose. If the DA gives you any sort of deal before the trial, take it.