College Station - Fiscal Matter(s)

6,551 Views | 101 Replies | Last: 10 hrs ago by Craig Regan 14
Craig Regan 14
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Hey GANG!

I hear this where the cool kids come to discuss Aggieland (COCS) Issues.

Allow me to introduce myself before we get into the fun(?).

My name is Craig Regan - I have lived in Brazos County for about 15 years. I am a active duty vet. AC2 in the US Navy. Father of 15 years Husband of 17. I currently help run & manage a bond brokerage for construction insurance. I have no local conflicts to get that outta the way but my experience runs deep in Fed/State/Municipal Contracts. I have most likely read more RFP's than a healthy person should.

Disclosure: I ran for COCS City Council back in '20 and as you might have guessed, I lost in a runoff.

But have been following the discussion on this forum for sometime regarding COCS budget issues. I ran on this four years ago (along with several other policy concerns) and even before that I would appear before council to try and highlight that our real fiscal issues having been and continue to be our O&M and our debt.

So let us open the books briefly to see what is actually happening.

(No need to be gentle with comments. If I messed up or got something wrong, tell me. I'm a big boy, I can handle it.)

As you can see in the images attached COCS budget has increased in the last ~4 years by $150,889,116. Now, as a percentage O&M and debt service has remained steady 58-41 (respectively). However it is important to highlight where the budget has seen the most growth. I am going back to 19-20 because COVID and it's fall out do not create a "clean" side by side COMP.

By far the largest growth is our DEBT service. Up nearly $9m. As you work your way down the list you will see other funds and expenditure be slashed or zero'd out completely.

The other growth line item is the General Fund