Outdoors
Sponsored by

Wasp ID

5,488 Views | 60 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by Rattler12
carl spacklers hat
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Velvet ant?
People think I'm an idiot or something, because all I do is cut lawns for a living.
DatTallArchitect
AG
Bird Poo said:

Bumble bee>honey bee>wasps

From my experience growing up in Wild Peach, TX. Probably got stung by something once a week.

Bumble bee is definitely the worst sting i ever had. My ankle stole up the size of a softball.
goatchze
AG
MAS444
AG
Having been stung by yellow jackets and asps, I can say that asps are much worse. Both hurt like hell though.
$3 Sack of Groceries
AG
agz win said:

Can I tag and ask what this?

As mentioned above it's a velvet ant or cow killer. You don't wanna get stung by one but if you can get a stick and pin it to the ground, those SOB's will squeak/squeal the harder you press them. It's the damndest thing.
Ghost of Bisbee
AG
What also pisses me off is if you step on a wasp with your shoe, or crush it, those ****ers release pheromones that signal to other wasps to come and help. Not sure if the pheromones release when they get poisoned or soap water logged

What the hell!
agz win
AG
BlueSmoke said:

agz win said:

Can I tag and ask what this?

"Cow Killer" or red velvet ant. No bueno. Coyote Peterson did a show on them about how painful their sting is. Stay away

Thank you for the information. Neighbor will get bug guy to treat and fire ants next week. That video was painful just to watch.
aTm2004
AG
Shoefly! said:

Ghost of Bisbee said:

Tecolote said:

Ghost of Bisbee said:

Never been stung by a wasp, but I have been stung by an asp (caterpillar), the very fuzzy ones with long hairs.

What would you compare the pain of a wasp or yellow jacket sting to?

Never been stung by a i honey bee or bumblebee either
Excruciating. Without having been stung by one you have no frame of reference to comprehend how ****ing awful it is.

Well, that's ****ing terrifying