Outdoors
Sponsored by

Surf Fishing

62,940 Views | 190 Replies | Last: 3 days ago by chjoak
Salt of the water
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
There have been a few surf fishing questions pop up recently. With summer on the way, and people heading to the beaches, I figured I'd tidy up the surf fishing primer I've posted on the OB a couple times and give it it's own thread.

There's no hard and fast rules with any kind of fishing, but this is what works for me. I'm not an expert and this should not be considered definitive. Other suggestions are very welcome.

I'm going to start with some generalizations about the different beaches in Texas.

Here's a great website of public beach access points in Texas. You can click any of the pins, and they'll give you facility information and often pictures of the sites as well. http://txcoasts.com/

Louisiana Border to Freeport High Island, Bolivar, Galveston, Surfside- beaches in general are slow sloping and pretty flat for a long ways out. The water is generally brown, but occasionally you get green/blue water in close. Some areas have nice sand, but often you'll find a mix of mud with the sand.

Freeport to Matagorda Bryan Beach, Sargent Beach, Matagorda - beaches slope a little faster here. Sandbars are steeper and closer together. Water quality very dependent on what the Brazos river is doing. More sand, but still some areas with mud mixed in.

Matagorda to Port Aransas Matagorda Peninsula, Matagorda Island, San Jose Island - The most remote beaches in Texas. Boat required (there is a ferry from Port Aransas to San Jose Island). I'm not much help here, sorry.

Port Aransas to Mexico Mustang Island, Padre Island, South Padre Island, Boca Chica Beach Beaches drop off quickly here. Much closer to deep water, and water is frequently blue/green. Lots of sand and not much mud.