Frisco ISD Read Woke challenge

10,829 Views | 119 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by geb83
FriscoKid
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG

Quote:

Frisco ISD has a "optional" reading challenge (funded with prizes for participation) for books that "challenge social norms".

Here is the information.
Facebook post from Nancy Jo Lambert (wording below and link to google Doc reading list plus photos of the post and promotional material posted in schools).

"As a Frisco ISD Librarian, I want to state that some conservative political activists are spreading misinformation about an optional reading challenge that that we, the high school librarians in FISD, started this year based off of a past School Libary Journal Librarian of the Year, Cicely Lewis, who lives in Georgia's nationwide reading challenge.

All Frisco ISD High Schools are participating in an optional Read Woke Challenge, created by Cicely Lewis, AKA Cicely The Great. The FISD HS librarians chose 10 books for the challenge. For more detailed information about the books, go here: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1IZhEwwmPib81DzFsr77N76r5tVomiaMcZTH-t36rDU0/preview

So FISD is rewarding kids with prizes if they reject their whiteness. Why is this being funded by taxpayers?
Hillary paid for warrant to spy on Trump.
FriscoKid
AG
Quote:

The FISD Read Woke Challenge is an optional reading challenge for high school students and staff. The original challenge was created by the 2020 School Librarian of the Year, Cicely Lewis, as a way to encourage her students to read. She curated a list of books that "reflected current events in our society" and depicted characters who looked like her students. She shared the list with students, and the challenge was born. A quick internet search of 'read woke' reveals many similar programs throughout the country.