Military History and Stories

6,346 Views | 73 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by Red1
Red1
How long do you want to ignore this user?
US Army Tankers vs Russian Tankers

When I was a Tank Platoon Leader, I studied the Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) until I had it memorized. The other tank commanders were E-6s and my Platoon Seargeant was an E-7. Needless to say they had a lot more experience than me, so I had to catch up. I will illustrate the beauty of tankers executing based the SOP. If we conducted a hasty defense the tank commanders knew to find suitable terrain for cover and concealment. Then I identified three Targe Reference Points in the engagement area that were distinguishable terrain features 1000 meters from us or further. This establishes the fire pattern for each tank by SOP. The beauty of the TRP system is it simplifies painting the picture of the battlefield. If I told the other tank commanders three T-72s 2000 meters TRP3, I had quickly created and communicated a common operating picture. This methodology is so simple, quick, and accurate that I have to say it is beautiful.

Illustrated below is the TRP methodology:

TRP1..........................;;......TRP2..................................TRP3.

..............TANK1........TANK2...... TANK3..............TANK4

The fire plan for TANK1 starts firing at TRP1 and goes to the right.
The fire plan for TANK2 starts slightly right of TRP2 and moves left.
The fire plan for TANK3 starts slightly left of TRP2 and moves right.
The fire plan for TANK4 starts firing at TRP3 and moves left.

I illustrate this because perhaps some of you might be interested in tank tactics. The other reason is to illuminate a 20-year-old Russian tank commander is incapable of performing at this level, let alone unison with the other tanks. The performance and quality of the American and Russian soldiers is like night and day.
Red1