Worst round of my life today

4,614 Views | 68 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by JR Ewingford
khaos288
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
tandy miller said:

khaos288 said:

Wycliffe_03 said:

khaos288 said:

When I had my awful round I had just started hitting up on my driver, and was crushing it. So without understanding why that helped, I started playing like I was teeing off on every shot.

so anything on the ground was getting chunked, and it was just confusing enough because anything on a good lie/tee was smashed.
That's one thing that took me a while to learn. To completely mentally separate iron technique from woods/driver. A light bulb would come on with my irons and I'd subconsciously try to apply it with driver or woods and vice versa, and typically it did not work. But I'm really really stupid and I still make these mistakes at times.

Exactly this. I have four swings now. Driver/wood, full iron shot, chip, putt. My worst offender these days is not mentally deciding between full iron and chip shot and I get a wonky hybrid of the two that's never good haha
So do you hit bump and runs instead of pitches? 10-40 yarders kill me
It totally depends. I generally do my chip shot with only two clubs. 8 iron, and sand wedge. One is for bump and run, one is for carry and stop. When I took lessons that change to the strategy of my approach saved me so many strokes.
Maroonedinaustin
AG
Posted my worst round in years today. F it! Had 4 four putts.
jgh85Ag
AG
Jim Furyk 3 putted from 20 feet to bogey the last hole today and probably miss the cut by one. He hit his first putt 9 feet by the hole.
the dude10
AG
93MarineHorn said:

Quote:

I think the total lack of expectations really helped me play loose and not overthink my swing.
I've played the two best rounds of my life after significant layoffs (a couple of months). I had no expectations and just focused on making good contact and not swinging too hard.